2020 presidential race begins, so here is a list of potential Democratic candidates

With the 2018 midterms over, the 2020 presidential campaign has begun — and there are just over 23 months before Election Day 2020. Unlike 2016, Democrats don’t have a clear frontrunner and this has caused them to amass a massive field of potential candidates. They range from the serious to those running to increase their name recognition. Here is a list of all names to know with some information:

  1. Joe Biden– former vice president of the United States, 2009-2017.
  2. Sherrod Brown– U.S. senator from Ohio, 2007 to date.
  3. Deval Patrick– former Massachusetts governor, 2007-2015 (no website available). On December 5, 2018, the New York Times reported that Patrick would not run for president. 
  4. Kamala Harris– U.S. senator from California (2017 to date)
  5. Richard Ojeda– former Army officer. Announced his campaign on November 12, 2018.
  6. John Delaney– U.S. congressman from Maryland, 2013-2019. Announced his campaign on July 28, 2017.
  7. Eric Garcetti– Los Angeles mayor, 2013 to date.
  8. Cory Booker– U.S. senator from New Jersey, 2013 to date.
  9. Mitch Landrieu– former mayor of New Orleans, 2010-2018.
  10. John Kerry- former U.S. secretary of state, 2013-2017 (no website available).
  11. Tim Ryan– U.S. congressman from Ohio, 2003 to date.
  12. Kirsten Gillibrand– U.S. senator from New York, 2009 to date.
  13. Julian Castro- former HUD secretary, 2014-2017 (no website available).
  14. Eric Swalwell– U.S. congressman from California, 2013 to date.
  15. John Hickenlooper- governor of Colorado, 2011-2019 (no website available).
  16. Eric Holder- former U.S. attorney general, 2009-2015 (no website available).
  17. Michael Bennet– U.S. senator from Colorado, 2009 to date.
  18. Jay Inslee– governor of Washington, 2013 to date.
  19. Jeff Merkley– U.S. senator from Oregon, 2009 to date.
  20. Mike Bloomberg– former New York City mayor, 2002 to 2014.
  21. Tom Steyer– hedge fund manager
  22. Elizabeth Warren– U.S. senator from Massachusetts, 2013 to date.
  23. Terry McAuliffe– former governor of Virginia, 2014-2018.
  24. Michael Avenatti– attorney. In a tweet on December 4, 2018, Avenatti announced he would not run for president.
  25. Martin O’Malley– former governor of Maryland, 2007-2015.
  26. Howard Schultz– former CEO of Starbucks
  27. Steve Bullock– governor of Montana, 2013 to date.
  28. Bernie Sanders– U.S. senator from Vermont, 2007 to date.
  29. Seth Moulton– U.S. congressman from Massachusetts, 2015 to date.
  30. Chris Murphy– U.S. senator from Connecticut, 2013 to date.
  31. Pete Buttigieg– mayor of South Bend, Indiana, 2012 to date.
  32. Hillary Clinton– former U.S. secretary of state, 2009-2013.
  33. Amy Klobuchar– U.S. senator from Minnesota, 2007 to date.
  34. Bob Casey– U.S. senator from Pennsylvania, 2007 to date.
  35. Tulsi Gabbard– U.S. congresswoman from Hawaii, 2013 to date.
  36. Bill de Blasio– mayor of New York City, 2014 to date.
  37. Beto O’Rourke– U.S. congressman from Texas, 2013-2019.
  38. Mark Warner– U.S. senator from Virginia, 2009 to date.
  39. Andrew Cuomo– governor of New York, 2011 to date. In an interview with WNYC on November 27, 2018, Cuomo said he will not run for president.

As these individuals enter/exit the race, this list will be updated.

Signup for Updates

Want to stay up-to-date on Evan's latest update? Enter your email below to stay in the know. We promise, we don't spam.
Latest Tweets: